CIA Certified Internal Auditor

The CIA designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field. Since the program’s launch in 1973, it has opened up countless doors of opportunity for practitioners around the world as it communicates their ability to serve as a key player in their organization’s success. Candidates leave the program enriched with educational experience, applicable knowledge, and business tools that can deliver a positive impact in any organization or business environment.
The CIA credential can be your master key to professional success, opening doors for career opportunities and earning you increased credibility and respect within the profession and your organization.
Ultimately, the CIA designation will:

  •  Distinguish you from your peers
  •  Demonstrate your proficiency with internal staff and external clients.
  •  Develop your knowledge of best practices in the industry.
  •  Demonstrate your proficiency and professionalism.
  •  Lay a foundation for continued improvement and advancement.

Earning the CIA designation is a valuable accomplishment and a professional advantage for auditors at all stages of their careers, including chief audit executives, audit managers, audit staff, risk management staff, and also students enrolled in an accounting or other business or financial degree program.

The CIA exam is available through computer-based testing, allowing you to test year-round at more than 500 locations worldwide. Candidates are able to sit for exams at any IIA-authorized Pearson VUE testing center worldwide, regardless of whether the testing center is located in your hometown or country. You must apply and register in The IIA’s Certification Candidate Management System (CCMS) prior to scheduling an exam.

   Below are the six steps an internal auditor should review when making the decision to become certified in the profession.

   The IIA’s Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) certification is the only globally accepted designation for internal auditors. It is a three-part exam that remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their comprehensive competence and professionalism in the internal auditing field.

Individuals who do not meet the CIA program education and experience eligibility requirements may wish to take one of the specialty certifications, which are one-part exams.

CIA candidates must meet the following eligibility requirements for education, character, and work experience.

CIA candidates must hold a 4-year post-secondary degree (or higher) or its educational equivalent from an accredited university. For further details, please refer to the Certification Candidate Handbook. Please note that The IIA will not accept any amount of experience to substitute for missing education requirements.

Acceptable Documents:

  •   Copy of your degree or official transcripts (If your name has changed since you earned your degree, you must also include your legal name change document.)
  •   Letter from university confirming degree
  •    Letter from evaluation services confirming degree level

Candidates must exhibit high moral and professional character and must submit a Character Reference Form signed by a CIA, CGAP, CCSA, CFSA, CRMA, or the candidate’s supervisor.

CIA candidates must obtain a minimum of 24 months of internal auditing experience or its equivalent. A Masters degree can substitute for 12 of the required 24 months. Please refer to the Certification Candidate Handbook for more details. A completed Experience Verification Form is required. Candidates may apply to the program and sit for the exam prior to satisfying the professional experience requirement, but will not be certified until all program requirements have been met.

The IIA’s certification exams are now offered year-round through computer-based testing at more than 500 locations worldwide.

You determine the method(s) in which you need to prepare for the exam. AMITI is the best provider that offers exam review courses. AMITI is easily accessible in its locations in Dubai and Abu Dhabi in UAE contact Mrs. Hakima or any of our coordinators on the below details:

+971 2 4952814
+971 4 4543099

    With the transition to computer-based testing, The IIA’s certification exams are administered through the worldwide network of Pearson VUE Testing Centers. The Pearson VUE network enables candidates to take exams at over 500 sites. The Certification Candidate Handbook provides more information on the testing experience.Pearson VUE (PV) offers three different types of exam testing sites.

Once you pass the exam and meet all other program requirements, you will be eligible to receive your certificate. To order your certificate, you must log into your candidate record in CCMS and complete the certificate order form. The certificate will be shipped directly to you using a standard postal service method at no charge. Expedited shipping is also available at an additional cost. Certificate reprints are also available through this order system for a fee of US $50. Shipping using a standard postal service method will be at no charge. Expedited shipping is also available at an additional cost. In some instances, candidates who belong to certain Institutes will not be able to order their certificates directly. These certificates are sent directly to their Institute and the candidate will be contact by that Institute to be awarded their certificate.

Don’t wait, submit your inquiry now or contact us on